Side Street Seeing

I like taking side streets. Main streets become a blur of destination and determination, but side  streets slow. They invite discovery. Just like taking a walk will uncover the unseen in your neighborhood, side streets give your eyes permission to glance left and right.

I spotted this broken skateboard on a side street in Costa Mesa a year ago, but it wasn’t until a month ago that I decided to share my discovery by taking a picture.

broken-heart-skateboard

Things I love about this:

  • taking something broken and reimagining it.
  • that someone wasn’t scared about putting something beautiful up on public property, they took ownership of their city and counted on hope to keep it in place.
  • by putting their art in a public place, it’s free and now it can be transported to other places by copying the idea.
  • it’s not just an idea, someone MADE something from their idea.
  • it still makes me smile.

One thought on “Side Street Seeing

Leave a comment